Lentil Salad with Fennel and Artichoke Hearts


So, tomorrow is Thanksgiving. And while this dish probably won’t be gracing many Thanksgiving tables, it’s a great recipe to have on hand the day after you’ve eaten way too much stuffing and pie.

I know the “things I am thankful for” post has been done a million times, but I want to take a second to acknowledge a few things I’m really thankful for.  Yep, cheesy and cliché posts are apparently my specialty.

Our marriage

Four years and still going strong! Mike is such an amazing husband and father.

Our daughter

She’s happy and healthy, and I love her so much

Running

Post-partum running is going better than expected!

My job

Those letters are from my students last year, and I miss them like crazy! Being home with Ellie has been great and I know I’ll miss her when I go back to work, but there are about 150 middle school kids I can’t wait to get back to.

My family.

Although I didn’t realize it during those fun-filled adolescent years, they are wonderful (and Im not just saying that because they took us to Hawaii).

This salad is my attempt to re-create the one that was served at the Friday night dinner at Foodbuzz this year. I think it comes pretty close…and it’s always good to have ways to eat lentils other than soup. It can be served at room temperature or chilled, but it’s best after chilling for a few hours.

Have a very happy Thanksgiving!!

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:13]

7 Responses to “Lentil Salad with Fennel and Artichoke Hearts”


  1. 1 The Healthy Hostess November 23, 2011 at 4:28 am

    This reminds me of the Foodbuzz salad – I can’t wait to try it!

  2. 2 Krystal @ {Mrs. Regueiro's Plate} November 23, 2011 at 10:49 am

    YUM! I’ve been waiting for you to post this!! Sounds fantastic, and what a perfect thankful list!! Great pic of your little sweetie pie, she’s got your smile!!!

  3. 3 Mary @ Bites and Bliss November 23, 2011 at 12:43 pm

    That looks delicious!! I love artichoke hearts. Thanks for posting!

    You sure have a lot to be thankful for. 🙂 Your sweet girl is so adorable, too!

  4. 4 Page November 23, 2011 at 4:51 pm

    I just showed my mom that pic of Ellie and we both agreed, she is ridiculously adorable.

    I hope you have an amazing Thanksgiving!

  5. 5 Page November 23, 2011 at 4:51 pm

    PS I love your new blog header!

  6. 6 Koko @ Koko Likes November 23, 2011 at 7:09 pm

    YUM! These lentils look delicious and SO healthy!

  7. 7 Kate November 24, 2011 at 9:24 pm

    The thing about your recipes is that I am usually in love with each and every ingredient.


Leave a Reply

