Pumpkin Pie Bars


I hate pumpkin pie. It’s not the flavor I have problems with, it’s the texture. Custards just completely gross me out. Fortunately these bars taste like pumpkin pie, but have more of a cheesecake texture, which I love!

I also like graham cracker crust about a hundred times more than regular pie crust, so this recipe has that going for it too.

The recipes I found for pumpkin pie bars all had an oatmeal mixture and buterscotch chips sprinkled over the top, but I wanted to keep it simple. The filling isn’t overly sweet, but it goes perfectly with the crust. I think these should replace pumpkin pie as the standard Thanksgiving dessert.

Mike and I made the mistake of putting the pan on the table and taking turns cutting pieces. Over half the pan disappeared within about ten minutes. Oops.

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:12]
(adapted from Joy the Baker)

4 Responses to “Pumpkin Pie Bars”


  1. 1 Courtney @ The Granola Chronicles November 22, 2011 at 8:31 am

    I hated the texture of pumpkin pie growing up. I’m starting to get past that! I’m making a classic pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving this year (with a caramel apple one too – yum!), but these bars would be a great substitution!

    HAPPY THANKSGIVING! I hope your little one enjoys her first big holiday! 🙂

  2. 3 Kate November 24, 2011 at 9:23 pm

    It’s probably a good thing I’m not so into sweets or things wouldn’t make it to our table at all!

  3. 4 Jillian B. December 15, 2013 at 7:07 pm

    I am not a fan of pumpkin pie, but I had a couple of cans of filling left over from Thanksgiving and was in the mood the bake. I am trying this recipe (the pan is cooling on the counter as I type) and have my fingers crossed. By the way, I added pecan chips and coffee to the graham cracker base. Thanks, Cate!


Leave a Reply

