Eat to the Beat: “Beet It” Salad


Elly Says Opa, a blog I’ve been reading since before I started blogging, is 5 years old! Elly used to host a blog event “Eat to the Beat,” which involves creating a recipe based on a song or band, and she brought it back to celebrate the blog’s fifth birthday. You can participate too! Here’s some more info.

I knew I wanted to participate, but I couldn’t think of anything food and music related, until I brought home some golden beets from the farmer’s market. This is most likely the lamest submission to the event, but as soon as I added roasted beets to my salad the other night, I immediately thought of Michael Jackson’s song “Beat It.”

I could eat an entire pan of roasted beets on their own, but they’re also pretty great tossed with some butter lettuce, oranges, and pistachios. The vinaigrette is slightly sweet and not too acidic. I think spinach would also work really well instead of butter lettuce, if you’d rather use it.
[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:7]

4 Responses to “Eat to the Beat: “Beet It” Salad”


  1. 1 Kate November 20, 2011 at 9:49 am

    Beets are huge in my family. In fact, when I told my mom I would make dessert for Thanksgiving she said “but you’ll also make a beet salad too, right?”

  2. 2 Courtney (Pancakes and Postcards) November 20, 2011 at 1:11 pm

    For some reason I detest beets, but these look amazing.

  3. 3 elly November 21, 2011 at 5:36 am

    Thanks so much for participating! I love this salad not only because I heart beets, but also because I’ve always been a big MJ fan (as evidenced by my toddler sized “Beat It” shirt I had growing up. 🙂


  1. 1 Happy 5 Years to Moi! And your Eat to the Beat Roundup! Trackback on November 30, 2011 at 6:14 am

Leave a Reply

