Rockaway Beach 5K


I’m back! Sort of.

I wasn’t sure when I’d be ready for my “comeback race.” Ellie was born 4 weeks and 6 days ago, and my first run in about 4 months was just over 2 weeks ago. But my runs last week felt so fantastic, I decided I was ready for a 5K.

This one is not particularly friendly. It’s an out and back that goes over a huge hill (twice…obviously).

Last year I ran it in 22:31. This year I was a WHOLE lot slower.

My only goal was to finish and feel good. Mike wasn’t sure why I insisted on wearing a Garmin if I didn’t care about my pace, but of course I kind of sort of DID care about my pace. Not enough to be sad that it was really slow, but enough to be extremely curious based on the events of the past few months.

I started out feeling pretty comfortable (I was determined not to go out too fast), but the huge hill was definitely brutal. My legs felt fine the entire time but my lungs are clearly not what they used to be. I didn’t love watching everyone take off up the hill as I huffed and puffed like an overweight smoker, but I didn’t beat myself up over it.

After the initial hill, the rest of the race was fun. I glanced at my mile splits and was pretty happy to see them under 9. I finished strong, and am excited to get out and train more!

16 Responses to “Rockaway Beach 5K”


  1. 1 Naomi October 17, 2011 at 7:16 am

    Welcome back – I love that you raced yesterday too! It was so great to see you and Mike again and the highlight of my day was meeting Baby Ellie!

  2. 2 Kate October 17, 2011 at 7:21 am

    Your time is great for your first race back – and you obviously look fabulous. But it’s making me antsy to get back out there!

  3. 3 Beth October 17, 2011 at 9:54 am

    Congratulations, crazy girl 🙂 You’ll be putting Kara Goucher’s post pregnancy runs to shame in no time, I’m sure!

  4. 4 Angela October 17, 2011 at 10:03 am

    Yay, congrats! Must be so awesome to race again! 🙂

  5. 5 Krystal R. October 17, 2011 at 10:36 am

    You’re a rockstar!! Congrats on the fantastic feat!

  6. 6 natalie (the sweets life) October 17, 2011 at 10:53 am

    You should be so proud of yourself–that is AWESOME!

  7. 7 Jen October 17, 2011 at 11:01 am

    congratulations on your first race post-baby, cate! you look great and your pace wasn’t too shabby either! 😉

  8. 8 Page October 17, 2011 at 11:04 am

    Um, that is fricking amazing. CONGRATS and welcome back!

  9. 9 Laura October 17, 2011 at 5:33 pm

    Sounds pretty fast to me! Especially on a hilly course!

  10. 10 Krysten October 17, 2011 at 6:32 pm

    Umm, that’s like as fast as I run currently, and I have not yet had a child. You are awesome!! Look at those rockin’ quads. 🙂

  11. 11 Kristen @ The Concrete Runner October 17, 2011 at 7:46 pm

    Congrats on a great race! You look great! 🙂

  12. 12 courtney (pancakes and postcards) October 17, 2011 at 10:25 pm

    congrats cate! you look awesome and i’m happy with that time on a 5K. 🙂 can we PLEASE run together soon?

  13. 13 Jen October 18, 2011 at 8:46 am

    Cate, you look so amazing! And what an incredible race time so soon after baby. You give me so much hope!

  14. 14 JanaC October 18, 2011 at 9:17 am

    Great job! Your little one should be so proud of her mamma 🙂

  15. 15 RoadBunner October 18, 2011 at 7:01 pm

    Holy heck you are amazing! Welcome back to racing!


Leave a Reply

Twitter

  • Lovett or Leave It: my new favorite podcast. Waiting til the weekend is even harder now 6 days ago
  • I've apparently become a person who spends her weekend doing yard work 😬 1 week ago
  • Apparently when you buy a house your parents decide it's finally time to give you all your papers from high school 1 week ago

Don’t miss a post!

Contact me!

I love getting email: catesworldkitchen at gmail.com
Super Natural Recipe Search
wordpress visitor counter

