Spinach and Mushroom Quiche with Vegetable Crust

Yesterday’s run was the best I’ve had yet! I may have broken my casual “no more than 5 miles” rule (barely), but it was beautiful and I felt great. 5.03 miles, 9:43 min/mile Next week I think I’ll bump my long run up to 6 miles, but stick with the every other day plan.

I ran past the finish line of the Nike Women’s Marathon, which they’re setting up right now.

That race was my first marathon back in 2005, when I was far more focused on my social life than training, my longest run was 16 miles, and I swore, after finishing in 4:41, that marathons just weren’t for me.

I’m glad I gave them another chance!

I’ve started a new thing with my meal planning and grocery shopping, where I go to the Farmers Market on Thursday, buy a ton of produce, and then plan my meals around what I’ve bought, instead of planning before I shop. It’s been working out really well for the past few weeks, but sometimes I end up with a ton of random vegetables that I’m not sure what to do with.

Salads are great, obviously.

My current salad obsession involves lettuce, carrots, cucumber, tomatoes, basil, cilantro, and mint, with the best dressing EVER. It’s just tahini, lemon juice, and Bragg’s liquid aminos in about a 3:1:1 ratio (or to taste). I love it so much.

Quiches are also awesome for using up vegetable odds and ends. Especially this one, which has vegetables in the crust too. The crust doesn’t get crispy like a normal pie crust would, but it’s a lot healthier.

I don’t have a quiche pan, so I used a 9″ springform pan. Since they sometimes leak, I put it on a sheet pan to bake.

Recipe
(adapeted from The Enchanted Broccoli Forest)

crust
3 medium zucchini, shredded (about 2 cups)
1 medium carrot, shredded (about 3/4 cup)
2 small red potatoes, shredded (about 1/2 cup)
1 tsp salt
1/3 cup whole wheat flour
2 tbsp melted butter

quiche
1 tbsp butter
1/2 medium yellow onion, diced
8-10 button mushrooms, sliced
6 oz bag baby spinach
salt and pepper
1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese
3 eggs
1 cup milk

Preheat the oven to 375 F.

To make the crust, toss the shredded zucchini with salt and place in a mesh strainer for about 15 minutes. Squeeze to remove extra liquid.

Combine the zucchini, potatoes, and carrots, and stir in the flour and melted butter. Press into a quiche pan or springform pan and bake for about 40 minutes, or until golden.

Remove from the oven to cool while you prepare the quiche.

Heat the butter in a skillet and add the onions and mushrooms. Cook for about 7 minutes over medium, or until the onions are very soft and the mushrooms have browned. Stir in the spinach and a pinch of salt and pepper, and cook just until the spinach wilts.

Sprinkle the parmesan over the crust. Top with the spinach mixture.

Whisk the eggs and milk together and pour over the vegetables and cheese. Set the pan on a rimmed baking sheet and bake for about 40 minutes, or until set.

13 Responses to “Spinach and Mushroom Quiche with Vegetable Crust”


  1. 1 Tasha October 13, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    I love the sounds of this quiche, especially the crust! And I will be giving the tahini dressing a try as well.

  2. 2 kathleen @ the lushers October 14, 2011 at 5:34 am

    That quiche sounds so good! I love quiche, but I’m not really crazy about the crust, so this sounds perfect! Can’t wait to try it!

  3. 3 Kate October 14, 2011 at 5:54 am

    The Nike half was the first marathon I signed up for – but didn’t make the lottery!

  4. 4 Kierstan @ Life {and running} in Iowa October 14, 2011 at 6:18 am

    I love the idea of the vegetable crust!

    I am happy too that I gave marathons a second chance after my first one (and second one for that matter!). I quickly swore them off, but found myself longing to register for another just a few days later.

  5. 5 Joanne October 14, 2011 at 10:17 am

    Nike was my first also! My first (of two) was actually my best so far…I’m so bummed I got injured just before running it again this year. I need to make up for the awfulness that was Boston. I’m in town watching it though…it’s going to be both super awesome and super sad.

    Quiches and salads are definitely a great use of odds and ends veggies. This looks delicious!

  6. 6 natalie (the sweets life) October 14, 2011 at 11:50 am

    I love the idea of a vegetable crust (which reminds me of how much i loved the galette of yours I made with the kalamata olive crust :))…must try this sometime soon!

  7. 7 Moodles October 14, 2011 at 5:23 pm

    I really like the vegetable crust. Too often, quiche crusts are greasy and soggy.

  8. 8 The Yogurt Sisters October 18, 2011 at 9:42 am

    The vegetable crust is brilliant!!

  9. 9 ErinsFoodFiles October 19, 2011 at 8:43 am

    I agree that quiches are great for leftover veggies. I had some beautiful swiss chard I let sit in the fridge from my CSA for far too long. Finally I woke up Sunday morning and had the idea to put it in a quiche. Yours looks divine, and while I’m partial to my whole wheat crust, this veggie version sounds intriguing!

  10. 10 Adrienne October 19, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    That crust is so unique! I’ve never seen anything like it.

  11. 11 The Waspy Redhead October 23, 2011 at 9:49 pm

    I love quiche! I am so fascinated by the concept of a veggie crust – I might give that a shot. Also, I’m loving all your posts about staying active right after baby. I’m motivated to get moving myself!

  12. 12 Trader Joes Recipes April 6, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    You have convinced me to make your quiche! It looks wonderful!

  13. 13 Jess June 10, 2012 at 2:50 pm

    Just made this today, and it is delicious! Simple ingredients, came together really well. Thanks for the great recipe!


Leave a Reply

Twitter

  • Lovett or Leave It: my new favorite podcast. Waiting til the weekend is even harder now 6 days ago
  • I've apparently become a person who spends her weekend doing yard work 😬 1 week ago
  • Apparently when you buy a house your parents decide it's finally time to give you all your papers from high school 1 week ago

Don’t miss a post!

Contact me!

I love getting email: catesworldkitchen at gmail.com
Super Natural Recipe Search
wordpress visitor counter

