Banana Espresso Chocolate Chip Muffins

It’s been a little rainy lately. Rain makes me want to run (I had a delightfully soggy 4.5 mile run yesterday at 9:46 pace…I’m getting faster!)

It also makes me want to bake. I made some Oatmeal Raisin Cookies.

They disappeared far too quickly.

Apparently the rain made Mike want to bake too, because he made this awesome cake (with kirsch and caraway seeds) from his Celtic Folklore cookbook. The man can bake!

Then last night, because obviously cookies and cake aren’t enough, I decided to make some ridiculously rich muffins. These are not healthy muffins, and I’m okay with that.

With my little (or not so little? How is she already ONE MONTH old?!) baking buddy strapped into the Ergo, these muffins were easy to mix together and came out absolutely delicious.

The only change I made was increasing the amount of instant espresso, and for me this yielded 14 muffins instead of 12. They were a HUGE hit both at home and at Mike’s work, where he claims they disappeared “literally within 30 seconds” (and he would not use literally incorrectly!)

Recipe:
(from Baked: New Frontiers in Baking)

makes 14 muffins

4 very ripe bananas, mashed
1/2 cup white sugar
1/4 cup firmly packed brown sugar
1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
1/4 cup whole milk
1 large egg
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1 tbsp instant espresso powder
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
1 tsp salt
1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350 F. Line a 12-muffin pan with paper liners (plus two ramekins).

Stir the bananas, sugars, butter, milk, and egg together in a large bowl.

In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, espresso powder, baking soda, and salt.

Gently stir the dry ingredients into the wet, mixing just until all traces of lour disappear. Fold in the chocolate chips.

Divide the batter evenly among the pans, then bake for about 20 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean. Cool the muffins in the pans for about 10 minutes, then let cool completely on a wire rack.

10 Responses to “Banana Espresso Chocolate Chip Muffins”


  1. 1 Joanne October 12, 2011 at 5:38 am

    Yay on the awesome runs! I fully intend on living vicariously through you until I can hit the pavement again. 😛

    I also fully intend on making these muffins…I’m pretty sure everyone at work would really appreciate it!

  2. 2 Laura October 12, 2011 at 5:51 am

    Yummy food and a cute baby…okay, I’m hooked.

  3. 3 Josie October 12, 2011 at 5:51 am

    I’ve been wanting to make these muffins forever! And Ellie is so freaking cute, I can’t stand it – such a sweet little face!

  4. 4 Caitlin October 12, 2011 at 7:28 am

    Yum! I’ve made these muffins a couple of times, and they are awesome. Very true that they’re not healthy, but who cares? Cuuuuuute baby :-).

  5. 5 Caitlin @ Vegetarian in the City October 12, 2011 at 11:26 am

    wow those muffins sound super! thanks for sharing 🙂

    what a cute baby!

  6. 6 Kate October 12, 2011 at 1:06 pm

    I used kirsch to make a cake last week! But I have some left over and I always have caraway seeds. If I didn’t have so much of my cake left over I would be sorely tempted to try Mike’s.

  7. 7 Fahad Khan (@PharaohKhan) October 12, 2011 at 2:12 pm

    This is one of the best baking recipes I have come across!Chocolate,coffee and bananas – the most heavenly ingredients ever!I love the flavor of brown sugar as well!
    Thank you so much for sharing;Cannot wait to make these!:-)

  8. 8 Krystal R. October 12, 2011 at 3:23 pm

    OH my word, it’s been a month!!! Geesh, time flies. These muffins sound perfect for that extra freezer stock of bananas that I have! It might be a double batch. YUM!!!

  9. 9 Hannah October 15, 2011 at 7:01 am

    These are perfection!! My usual banana muffin recipe has certainly been replaced with this one… we loved it! Thanks for the great recipe!

  10. 10 Annie October 17, 2011 at 7:37 pm

    She is so, so cute!!!


Leave a Reply

