Kale and Butternut Squash Pizza


This weekend started, as it should, with Pizza Friday! I’ve been slacking a little bit lately, but this week it was back in action with a new recipe (instead of just cheese and red sauce for the millionth time).

I’m SO happy squash is back in season!

Roasting it with red onions and some thyme makes an absolutely divine pizza topping, especially when combined with garlicky kale and mozarella cheese. Mike said this is his new favorite pizza (replacing this one). I really loved it too.

On Saturday, Courtney organized a blogger meet-up at Sports Basement in the Presidio. Alyssa and I decided to run over from the Richmond because we weren’t sure what the parking situation would be like (so while everyone else was cute and put together, we were kind of sweaty messes).

(picture courtesy of Audrey)

After snacks and chatting, we went outside to watch the Blue Angels. I only got one pathetic, blurry iPhone pictures, but it was really cool to see!

After that, Alyssa and I ran back up the gigantic hill to where I’d left my car for a total of 4.86 miles in 48 minutes. I can’t get over how much more fun running is now that I’m not pregnant! I’m thinking my first race back MIGHT be a 5K next Sunday. I ran the same course last year in 22:31 and I know I’ll be nowhere close to that this year, but I’m dying to get back out and race!

Recipe:
from Bev Cooks

Dough for two 10-inch pizza crusts
3 Tbs. extra virgin olive oil, divided (plus a little extra for brushing crusts)
pinch of coarse salt and freshly ground pepper
1 medium butternut squash, peeled, seeded and cut into bite-sized cubes
3 sprigs thyme, leaves removed
2 small red onions, cut into wedges
3 cups tuscan kale, cut in thin ribbons
1 garlic cloves, sliced
2 cups shredded mozzarella cheese

Toss the squash and onions with 2 Tbsp of oil, some salt and pepper, and the thyme leaves. Spread on a rimmed baking sheet and roast at 400F for about 30 minutes, stirring once or twice, until squash is tender.

While the squash is roasting, heat 1 tbsp of oil in a skillet and add the garlic. Cook for about 1 minute, then stir in the kale and a pinch of salt. Cook until the kale is wilted.

When the squash is finished, turn the oven up to 500 F (with a pizza stone in the oven, if you have one). Prepare the crusts, brush each with a little olive oil, and top with the kale and squash/onion mixture. Sprinkle mozarella over the vegetables.

Cook the pizzas for about 12 minutes, or until the crust is golden and the cheese is bubbly.

14 Responses to “Kale and Butternut Squash Pizza”


  1. 1 Alyssa October 10, 2011 at 10:19 am

    Yes! Which 5k are you thinking of doing?! One of the DSE races?? Mmmm, that pizza looks soooooo good. πŸ™‚ πŸ™‚

  2. 2 janet @ the taste space October 10, 2011 at 10:25 am

    I can’t believe you want to do a race so soon! Wowzers! Anyways, I am loving your pizza topping combination here, though. Yum!

  3. 3 Blog is the New Black October 10, 2011 at 11:18 am

    Great timing- I was looking for a bn squash recipe!

  4. 4 Sarah K. @ The Pajama Chef October 10, 2011 at 11:53 am

    whoa, two of my favorite fall veggies on one pizza! what a great idea. πŸ™‚

  5. 5 Tracey October 10, 2011 at 12:26 pm

    Loving that combination of ingredients! They’d be fantastic on pizza, I have to try them soon πŸ™‚

  6. 6 Kate October 10, 2011 at 1:33 pm

    You’re so cute that you ran there! We’re doing our first “walk” next weekend. I joked with my mom about doing our traditional 5k next month, but I think I’m going to try to take it easy so I don’t overdo it before the half.

  7. 7 Lizzy October 10, 2011 at 4:03 pm

    That pizza looks delicious- my favorite veggies on one pizza! I must make it!!! And I’m so happy running is getting easier for you : )

  8. 8 Courtney @ The Granola Chronicles October 10, 2011 at 4:23 pm

    Oooh, I can’t wait until we get squash in our CSA box. We received a few yams last week for the first time – I just love fall & winter veggies!

    It was great meeting you on Saturday. Hope your run back home went well. πŸ™‚

  9. 9 Laura October 10, 2011 at 6:33 pm

    I’ve been pretty much neglecting the blog world for the last little while and just started to pull myself back together this weekend. And what did I discover in my inbox on Sunday? An email about a blogger meetup on Saturday. How about that for timing? Anyway, I must admit I was drawn to yours because of your absolutely adorable baby. Your pizza looks pretty good too πŸ˜‰

  10. 10 Tessa October 10, 2011 at 7:16 pm

    This looks great. Love pizza.

    Good luck on the race if you decide to run!

  11. 11 Megan (Running Foodie) October 10, 2011 at 7:26 pm

    Oh, yum. We love Pizza Friday! I’ll have to add this to the rotation. So bummed I had to miss this weekend, but looking forward to seeing you at Foodbuzz!

  12. 12 natalie (the sweets life) October 12, 2011 at 6:49 am

    I’ve made a kale and sweet potato pizza so I know we’d love this version with the squash as well!

    You are super inspiring when it comes to post-baby running πŸ™‚ keep it up!

  13. 13 JanaC October 20, 2011 at 1:55 pm

    I made this Tuesday (used spinach instead of Kale) and it was one of the best pizzas. Very easy (after peeling and cutting the squash). THANKS!

  14. 14 Jade January 13, 2012 at 4:45 pm

    Cate, I just made this pizza and loved it!! Honestly, I was totally skeptical at first. I love all the vegetables, but was worried about it being on a pizza. I am so glad I made it. Loved it!!! You are brilliant.


Leave a Reply

Twitter

Don’t miss a post!

Contact me!

I love getting email: catesworldkitchen at gmail.com
Super Natural Recipe Search
wordpress visitor counter

