My return to running!

I did not think I’d get to write this post so soon!

On Thursday I was curious about whether or not I could do some yoga or pilates, since the only exercise I’ve been doing since Ellie was born is walking. I emailed my doctor, and I’m pretty sure I shrieked with delight when I saw this response:

I had NO idea I’d be cleared to run that quickly! Within half an hour, I was out on my first run in about 4 months.

Since I’ve never exactly been great at moderation, I decided to set a few rules for myself so I don’t overdo it (see, Mom and Dad, I’m learning!) I am not concerned with my pace AT ALL. This means I take walk breaks whenever I feel like it, and keep the pace really easy (around 11:00/mile feels perfect right now). I’m also not going to run two days in a row for a few more weeks.

It’s kind of crazy to me that 3 weeks ago today, I looked like this:

and now I look like this:

I’ve lost 24 of the 31 pounds I gained. I’m really not stressing about losing the last 7 pounds. It will happen eventually… right now I’m just focused on taking care of Ellie, eating well, getting rest, and gradually easing my way back to running injury-free.

So far I’ve run twice, 4.5 miles each time. This morning definitely felt easier than Friday, and I didn’t need to walk quite as much. I’m planning on running 3-5 miles at a time, 3-4 days a week for the next few weeks, with yoga or pilates on the days I don’t run. Although I fit into all my pre-pregnancy clothes again, they are definitely a little tighter around the waist than they used to be, and I know I have lost a significant amount of core strength.

20 Responses to “My return to running!”


  1. 1 ellen October 2, 2011 at 2:06 pm

    nice job! that is impressive that you’re cleared to run so soon πŸ™‚ great guidelines you’re setting yourself – way to ease back

  2. 2 Emily Malone October 2, 2011 at 2:16 pm

    Ummmm you look AMAZING!! And even more importantly, it seems like you FEEL amazing, which is so encouraging to hear. Congrats!

  3. 3 Nicole October 2, 2011 at 2:37 pm

    Cate, you are amazing! How inspiring!! You look so happy.

  4. 4 Michelle @ Crazy*Running*Legs October 2, 2011 at 5:57 pm

    Yay! Congrats!! You look great — I don’t think you’ve lost that pregnancy glow.

  5. 6 Naomi October 2, 2011 at 9:32 pm

    You look fabulous! I’m so glad you are running again and can’t wait for you and the whole family to join us on our weekend group runs! Yay!

  6. 7 Kate October 3, 2011 at 5:33 am

    So glad to hear it! I’m expecting to be out running again in 2-3 weeks depending on how healing goes. I for sure want to start training for my January half by the end of the month!

  7. 8 Angela October 3, 2011 at 9:42 am

    Yay, so exciting! Congrats! πŸ˜€

  8. 9 natalie (the sweets life) October 3, 2011 at 11:22 am

    you look AWESOME! i can handle being pregnant if I’ll bounce back this quickly πŸ™‚ I totally will have to set ‘rules’ for myself too!

  9. 10 Kelsey October 3, 2011 at 12:12 pm

    Cate, you look incredible. I am so happy for you!

  10. 11 maria @ a life to Bragg about October 3, 2011 at 12:42 pm

    Omg you look amazing! This makes me so excited to see what I’ll be like after birth. And I’m glad you get to run again…I bet it feels amazing!

  11. 12 Kira October 3, 2011 at 2:39 pm

    Yay! I swear, this would be the only time where I could actually run with you. So happy you’re back to running.

  12. 13 Lucy October 3, 2011 at 3:52 pm

    Good for you for getting right back at it!!

  13. 14 courtney (pancakes and postcards) October 3, 2011 at 5:05 pm

    you look amazing!! and how the hell did you lose baby weight already?

    PLEASE run with me in the next couple of weeks before you’re running 7 minute miles again or something so I can actually get a run with you in first. πŸ™‚

  14. 15 Debi October 3, 2011 at 8:09 pm

    Good for you on getting right back in shape. The same thing happened to me. Must be easier for us runners! I ended up losing like 10 more pounds even, so that was a bonus. Your baby is adorable and I’m so jealous that you are taking her everywhere! My son was born in January in the middle of a CT blizzard! We were snowed in for weeks and weeks! Oh God, flashbacks… Anyway, enjoy the new little cutie! Before you know it, she’ll be back talking just like my little monster. πŸ™‚

  15. 17 Joanne October 4, 2011 at 4:15 am

    ummm, girl.

    You.Look.Amazing.

    I’m so happy for you! I know how good this must feel.

  16. 18 Amy Ramos October 4, 2011 at 10:09 am

    That is awesome!! Congrats on the accomplishment!

  17. 19 Krystal R. October 4, 2011 at 10:49 am

    You look absolutely fantastic Cate!! Congrats on running again!

  18. 20 Page October 8, 2011 at 3:44 pm

    HOLY FREAKING AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! One day, I hope I have a pregnancy like yours, a baby as cute as yours, and a frickin’ smokin’ bod like yours! YOWZA! πŸ˜‰

    Welcome back!


Leave a Reply

Twitter

Don’t miss a post!

Contact me!

I love getting email: catesworldkitchen at gmail.com
Super Natural Recipe Search
wordpress visitor counter

