Cinnamon Rolls


I’m slightly starting to freak out that my Mom’s leaving on Tuesday. I have gotten completely spoiled and I’m kind of in denial that I have to do this baby thing all by myself from 9-5 on the weekdays now.

We took Ellie for a walk in Golden Gate Park again, and I had no idea that Spreckels lake has turtles! I’m clearly easily amused right now, but I thought that was amazing.

Friday night I decided that on Saturday, I would make cinnamon rolls.

I don’t know why I felt this urgent need, since I’ve never made them before, but I browsed foodgawker, found this recipe, and went with it. Ellie helped. (And clearly, finishing the cinnamon rolls was more of an urgent need than drying my hair. I have priorities.)

These were surprisingly easy… for some reason I thought cinnamon rolls would be way more complicated. They take a few hours from start to finish, but are TOTALLY worth it!

Recipe:
(from Cook, Bake & Decorate)

1 cup whole milk
2 1/2 tsp active dry yeast
1/2 cup white sugar
2 large eggs
1/3 cup butter, melted
4 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt

1 cup brown sugar, packed
2 1/2 tablespoons ground cinnamon
1/3 cup butter, melted

3 oz cream cheese, softened
1/4 cup butter, softened
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

Warm the milk in a small saucepan until it’s about 105 degrees.
Stir the yeast and a pinch of sugar into the milk in the bowl of a stand mixer. Let stand until foamy, about 5 minutes.

Add the sugar, butter, salt, eggs, and flour and mix well. Knead with the dough hook on medium speed for about 4 minutes, or until the dough is smooth.

Shape the dough into a ball, place in a bowl (the mixing bowl is fine) and cover with a damp towel. Let rise in a warm place about 1 hour or until dough has nearly doubled in size.

In a small bowl, combine brown sugar and cinnamon and mix well.

Sprinkle some flour on your work surface and lightly flour a rolling pin. Roll the dough into a 16×21 inch rectangle about 1/4 inch thick.

Brush the dough with 1/3 cup melted butter and sprinkle evenly with sugar-cinnamon mixture.

Roll the dough up starting with the longer side and cut into 12 rolls.

Arrange the rolls in a lightly greased 9×13 inch glass baking dish. Cover with a clean kitchen towel and let rise for about 30 minutes.

While the rolls are rising, preheat oven to 350 degrees. Bake until golden brown, about 18-20 minutes.

While the rolls are baking, make the frosting. Beat together the cream cheese, butter, powdered sugar, and vanilla extract. Spread the frosting on the rolls while they are still warm.

20 Responses to “Cinnamon Rolls”


  1. 1 Michelle @ Crazy*Running*Legs September 26, 2011 at 6:28 am

    I am horrible at baking (which is why I love reading all of your baking posts – you make it seems so easy!), but I do love making cinnamon rolls from scratch 🙂 They are well worth it!

    Ellie is so, so cute!! I miss wearing my babies. There is nothing like snuggling up with them while keeping your hands free.

  2. 2 Emily Malone September 26, 2011 at 7:33 am

    LOVE the picture of you cooking with Ellie! Can’t wait to wear an Ergo in the kitchen as well. 🙂 So cute, and I would kill for a cinnamon roll right now.

  3. 3 Kira September 26, 2011 at 8:14 am

    Homemade cinnamon rolls are the best! Definitely a special occasion thing in our house house though.

  4. 4 Allison [Girl's Guide to Social Media] September 26, 2011 at 8:49 am

    Great post for two reasons! (1) Your baby is so cute! and (2) Those cinnamon rolls look amazing and to-die-for. MmmMmm!

  5. 5 Amy Ramos September 26, 2011 at 9:43 am

    These looks delicious. I might make these next weekend.

  6. 6 Kimra September 26, 2011 at 11:11 am

    There are turtles in Spreckles Lake?! OK, need to look for those next time I run by. And now I’m craving a cinnamon roll like nobody’s business. Good for Ellie for helping out.

  7. 7 Kate September 26, 2011 at 12:24 pm

    It’s great you live close enough for frequent trips to “the park”

  8. 8 Michelle September 26, 2011 at 12:36 pm

    Superb! Great canisters as well I’ve been looking for my perfect canisters for awhile now. Do you know where to get them? Thanks!

    • 9 Cate September 26, 2011 at 3:14 pm

      Michelle – My husband’s parents had those canisters for awhile, and my husband spray painted them himself. Sorry, I’m not sure where they are from!

  9. 10 Natalie September 26, 2011 at 4:44 pm

    These looks great! Fluffy and delicious!

  10. 11 torviewtoronto September 26, 2011 at 5:34 pm

    delicious looking cinnamon bun
    nice to meet you

  11. 12 Brianna September 26, 2011 at 9:42 pm

    These look amazing, and I love that you’re rockin’ the Ergo 🙂

  12. 13 Angela September 26, 2011 at 10:30 pm

    Love fresh home-made cinnamon rolls!!

  13. 14 Tessa September 27, 2011 at 10:25 pm

    Your rolls look perfect. Glad Ellie could help!

  14. 15 Josie September 28, 2011 at 5:20 am

    i had the same urgent need a few weeks ago. I actually froze half of them, and we’re enjoying cinnamon rolls for breakfast this morning!

  15. 16 Erin @ One Particular Kitchen October 2, 2011 at 2:11 pm

    What a sweet picture with the Ergo! That’s still how I get cooking done sometimes with a four year old. 🙂

  16. 17 Page January 1, 2012 at 9:35 am

    That photo is precious. Seriously, I love it.

    Print it. Frame it. Save it.

  17. 18 En Güzel Yemek Tarifleri December 9, 2013 at 2:59 am

    You’re the best recipe web site. We love you. I tried this recipe and it is delicious. Thanks.


  1. 1 Cinnamon Buns » Bakeaholic Trackback on January 22, 2012 at 8:06 pm
  2. 2 Cinnamon rolls | Just Baked Trackback on August 25, 2013 at 10:01 pm

Leave a Reply

