Peach Cobbler


I used to think cobbler wasn’t worth making because it was just too simple. I liked involved dessert recipes that had multiple components, preferably including some kind of fancy cake or pastry plus frosting or pastry cream. That was also when I was still living at home and had both a dishwasher and family members I could talk into doing my dishes. Times have changed.

The peaches at the farmers market are absolutely PERFECT right now, but I know the season is almost over. It seems like a lot of people are getting excited for fall baking with pumpkin and apples, but I still want cherries, peaches, plums and strawberries!

Somehow I managed to keep myself from eating all the peaches I bought last week and actually had a few left to bake with (for the first time all summer!) I used a mix of yellow and white because they each contribute their own flavor.

For the topping, I made sweet drop biscuits so I wouldn’t have to deal with rolling out dough and cutting it. I like the rustic look it gives, too.

Peach season, I’m going to be devastated to see you go…

Recipe:

4 medium or large peaches, peeled and sliced (here’s how to peel them)
2 tbsp brown sugar
2 tbsp white sugar
1/4 tsp cinnamon
pinch nutmeg
1 tbsp corn starch

1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1 tbsp baking powder
pinch salt
2 tbsp sugar
4 tbsp cold butter, cut into small cubes
3/4 cup whole milk

1 tbsp sugar, for sprinkling over the top

Preheat oven to 350 F.

Combine the sugars, spices and corn starch, and toss with the peach slices. Place in a 1 1/2 quart baking dish.

To make the topping, whisk together the flour, sugar, salt, and baking powder. Using a pastry blender, blend in the butter until it resembles coarse crumbs. Stir in the milk and mix with a wooden spoon.

Drop spoonfuls of dough evenly over the peaches, the sprinkle with 1 tbsp sugar. Bake at 350 for about 40 minutes, or until the topping is golden brown.

12 Responses to “Peach Cobbler”


  1. 1 Jen September 1, 2011 at 6:38 am

    i am also so sad to see summer and all of its delicious fruits and veggies coming to an end.

    i am excited about fall but summer is my absolute favorite season of the year.

    peach cobbler topped with ice cream is the best!

  2. 2 Shawnda September 1, 2011 at 7:14 am

    Peach cobbler is one of the very best things about summer. I would be fine giving up the heat and keeping peaches around for a few more months ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. 3 kellypea September 1, 2011 at 8:12 am

    Just saw this on Twitter — I happen to have 4 enormous, gorgeous peaches in my kitchen right now. So tempted. Love peach cobbler!

  4. 4 courtney (pancakes and postcards) September 1, 2011 at 11:26 am

    i’m hungry. yum! I don’t even like peaches that much but this looks so good!

  5. 5 Julia September 1, 2011 at 12:46 pm

    I was the same way, cobbler seemed too simple, too boring. This last week though I’ve realized, I NEED cobbler in my life. It’s going on the weekends menu, done and done!

  6. 6 Kate September 1, 2011 at 7:48 pm

    Love the idea of topping a cobbler with biscuits. I usually just do a crumb topping.

  7. 7 Kelsey September 2, 2011 at 12:06 pm

    Oh my, does this look good. I think you just added another thing to my weekend baking list!

  8. 8 Angela September 2, 2011 at 12:10 pm

    God, I want cobbler now….This recipe looks about the right difficulty level for me. ๐Ÿ˜‰

  9. 9 ErinsFoodFiles September 2, 2011 at 12:56 pm

    YUM! I literally just finished eating a peach!

  10. 10 Joanne September 3, 2011 at 4:12 am

    I really didn’t think I was going to miss summer produce this much…but it kind of makes me want to cry knowing that in a month it’ll be gone for a whole year! I need to live it up with some cobbler. ASAP.

  11. 11 rachelsdigestif September 4, 2011 at 10:15 am

    I love the rustic topping as well! I’m going to have to give this a go before the peaches are gone…where has the summer gone?!

  12. 12 Molly @ Local Foods September 24, 2011 at 6:25 am

    Thanks for linking to my peach peeling tips, Cate! And congratulations on the beautiful baby girl. I’m impressed by your ability to keep a blog going with a true newborn in the house!


Leave a Reply

