Seitan with Spinach


I woke up on the fourth of July and immediately started making a batch of seitan.


(You probably already know seitan is fake meat made out of wheat gluten)

I had never made it before, and I have absolutely no idea why that moment seemed like the perfect time to try it, but that’s what happened. I used this recipe and it worked beautifully.

Once it was made, though, I wasn’t totally sure what I wanted to do with it. It’s so meat-like it’s kind creepy. I ended up consulting a few cookbooks (which I now keep IN THE KITCHEN! Amazing!)

Veganomicon has never steered me wrong, and this was no exception. I left out mushrooms, because Mike isn’t a fan, but it was perfectly good with just spinach and onions. I used 2 tablespoons of white wine, and I know that not all the alcohol cooks out, but I’m fairly confident that I did not harm my child. This was SO GOOD with mashed potatoes, and just meaty enough to make you wonder for a second if it’s somehow cheating to eat this as a vegetarian.

Before I get to the recipe, though, I have to say HAPPY BIRTHDAY to my awesome dad. He’s currently on vacation in Iceland (rough life) so he may not see this right away, but I had to acknowledge it!


58 years old and still running!

Recipe:
(adapted from Veganomicon)

1 tbsp olive oil
2 cups seitan, cut into bite-sized pieces
1 small onion, slicked thickly into half circles
3 cloves garlic, mined
1/2 tsp dried thyme
1/2 tsp dried basil
salt
black pepper
2 tbsp white wine
1/4 cup vegetable broth
6 ounces baby spinach

Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium heat. Add the seitan and saute for a few minutes, until golden on all sides.

Add the onions and cook for about 5 minutes, or until soft.

Add the garlic, thyme, basil, a pinch of salt and pepper, and cook for about 4 more minutes.

Stir in the white wine and broth and let boil for about 2 minutes, then add the spinach, a handful at a time, until it is wilted.

Taste and adjust seasonings, then serve immediately.

5 Responses to “Seitan with Spinach”


  1. 1 Kate July 7, 2011 at 2:57 pm

    You made your own seitan? So impressive.

  2. 2 Kamaile July 7, 2011 at 8:27 pm

    I need to make this and more recipes from this cookbook, everything I’ve made is excellent. Wow you have lots of cookbooks!

  3. 3 Beth July 8, 2011 at 12:37 pm

    This looks wonderful! I’ve always been intimidated by making my own seitan, but that recipe looks totally doable. I’ll be hitting up the bulk bins for some VWG this weekend.


  1. 1 Homemade Veggie Sausage Pizza | Boston to Berkeley Trackback on July 20, 2011 at 7:07 am
  2. 2 This Week’s Menu « Trackback on February 25, 2012 at 9:48 pm

Leave a Reply

