St. Patricks Day Recipes

I don’t really go all out for St. Patricks day anymore… those college days of hitting the bars at 6 AM (or as soon as my final was over, since Cal Poly didn’t seem to care that their finals were interrupting a crucial drinking holiday) are LONG gone (and hopefully my liver has fully recovered). I do, however, appreciate any chance to eat a good Irish meal.

My sister and me at the Guinness Storehouse in 2007

Ireland is one of my favorite countries and Guinness is one of my favorite beers (I guess I’ll have to turn in my vegetarian card now…). Since I can’t have a Guinness this year, I’ll be celebrating with lots of good food! Here are some ideas for your St. Patricks Day menu:


Colcannon
Buttery mashed potatoes with kale


Boxty Pancakes
Simple potato pancakes – great with sweet toppings or a hearty stew


Irish soda bread
A classic quick bread


Guinness Stew
Thick and hearty, made with beef or tempeh. (If you’re a strict vegetarian or vegan, you’ll need to find an alternative to Guinness that’s not made with isinglass)


Guinness Chocolate Cake
Rich and delicious – a perfect St. Patricks Day dessert!

3 Responses to “St. Patricks Day Recipes”


  1. 1 Kate March 6, 2011 at 11:36 am

    I realized last year that I’ll never be able to celebrate St. Patrick’s day again. Before my dad died, we used to celebrate my mom’s birthday (March 17) the weekend before or after. Now we all get together on the actual day, AND the weekend before or after. Which means there’s no time to celebrate and make these awesome dishes. 😦

  2. 2 Moodles March 6, 2011 at 2:35 pm

    I thought isinglass was a rock–what makes it nonvegan?


Leave a Reply

Twitter

  • Lovett or Leave It: my new favorite podcast. Waiting til the weekend is even harder now 6 days ago
  • I've apparently become a person who spends her weekend doing yard work 😬 1 week ago
  • Apparently when you buy a house your parents decide it's finally time to give you all your papers from high school 1 week ago

Don’t miss a post!

Contact me!

I love getting email: catesworldkitchen at gmail.com
Super Natural Recipe Search
wordpress visitor counter

