Double Ginger Cookies

I think my feelings for ginger are about on the same level as most people’s feelings about chocolate. I am more than a little obsessed with it. Gingerbread, pickled ginger, candied ginger, ginger tea, and of course ginger cookies – I love them all.

These cookies definitely have plenty with both ground and chopped candied ginger. They also get a lot of flavor from molasses, and a little boost from some nutmeg and cinnamon. I bought blackstrap molasses without realizing it, but it works well in this recipe (with no strong aftertaste). I’m sure if all you have is unsulphured, they’ll be great too.

Recipe:

1 1/2 sticks butter, softened
1 cup sugar
1 egg
1/2 cup molasses
2 cups flour
2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp nutmeg
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/2 tsp baking soda
2/3 cup chopped crystallized ginger
granulated sugar (for rolling)

Preheat the oven to 350 F and line a few baking sheets with parchment or Silpats.

Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in the molasses, followed by the egg. Sift the flour, ginger, cinnamon, nutmeg, salt, and baking soda together and stir into the butter mixture. Gently fold in the crystallized ginger.

Roll about 2 tsp of dough at a time into a ball and coat with granulated sugar. Place 3″ apart on the prepared cookie sheets (they spread a lot!) and bake for 10-12 minutes (shorter for soft and chewy cookies, longer for crisper cookies).

Let cool on the cookie sheets for about 5 minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

6 Responses to “Double Ginger Cookies”


  1. 1 Kira July 9, 2010 at 6:51 am

    I have a bunch of candied ginger just sitting in my pantry. These cookies will be a great way to use it!

  2. 2 Peggy July 9, 2010 at 4:22 pm

    These look so chewy and delicious!

  3. 3 arugulove July 9, 2010 at 4:38 pm

    Ginger is my absolute favorite too. I keep bags of candied ginger available at all times. And Trader Joe’s ginger cashew almond granola is pretty much the only thing I eat for breakfast. So, I am super excited by these cookies. Yum!

  4. 4 Dakotagal October 7, 2010 at 6:09 pm

    What a great recipe! I made some candied ginger last night (to prove that I could) and wanted to make some cookies, so I used this recipe. They DO spread a lot. However by moving the parchment paper to a rack and cooling, THEN removing the cookies, I had very few issues. trying to remove them with a spatula out of the oven resulted in FAIL.
    (These are going to be shared with my deployed spouse. I can’t WAIT until he gets them and lets me know how they are!!)


  1. 1 Dark chocolate mocha cupcakes with coffee buttercream « Cate's World Kitchen Trackback on July 15, 2010 at 5:32 am
  2. 2 double ginger cookies | Well Cooked Trackback on April 21, 2013 at 3:42 pm

Leave a Reply

