Moroccan Sweet Potato Salad

This is a recipe from an AMAZING cookbook called Arabesque. Mike and I have drooled over this cookbook on numerous visits to Barnes and Noble, but for some reason never kicked down the cash to get our own copy. About a week ago, Mike decided to get it from the library, but of course our little county library doesn’t have it so it had to be brought up from Santa Maria. After shelling out 50 cents to get it here, I think we’ve both realized it’s a must-purchase.

The book has three sections covering foods from Morocco, Lebanon, and Turkey (all places I really want to visit. Weird.) This was the first recipe I attempted but definitely won’t be the last. It combines flavors I’ve never thought of as going together, but it works! I let it stand at room temperature about an hour before I ate it, and in that time the flavors came together perfectly. I haven’t had much Moroccan food in my life, but after trying this, I definitely think it’s time for that to change!

Recipe:
(adapted from Arabesque)

2 medium sweet potatoes
2 tbsp olive oil
1 medium onion, diced
1/2 tsp ground ginger
1/2 tsp paprika
1/2 tsp ground cumin
juice of 1 lemon
2 tbsp chopped flat-leaf parsley
salt
8 green olives, halved

Peel the sweet potatoes and cut them into 1″ cubes.

Heat the oil in a dutch oven and add the onion. Cook until soft and golden, about 6 mintues. Add the sweet potato pieces, paprika, cumin, ginger and and enough water to just cover them. Simmer, stirring occasionally, until tender but not falling apart. By this point the liquid should be thickened into a sauce. Transfer the potatoes and onions to a bowl, leaving excess liquid behind.

Add the lemon juice, a few pinches of salt, parsley and olives, and toss well. Taste and adjust seasonings. Let sit for about an hour before serving if possible.

7 Responses to “Moroccan Sweet Potato Salad”


  1. 1 branny July 5, 2010 at 7:57 am

    Wow. I could eat this up in a jiffy!

  2. 2 Tasha July 5, 2010 at 10:22 am

    I love using ingedients that seem unlikely to go together and then create something amazing. This sounds like something I need to try soon!

  3. 3 arugulove July 5, 2010 at 11:23 am

    This looks unbelievable. I love green olives and I never would have thought to pair them with sweet potatoes, but I can see it really working. Yum. Can’t wait to make this.

  4. 4 Becky July 5, 2010 at 4:26 pm

    Wow this looks delicious! I love Moroccan food, and sweet potatoes are really healthy…

    http://www.healthmad.com/Nutrition/Five-Reasons-to-Eat-Sweet-Potatoes.394999

  5. 5 kutzika July 5, 2010 at 8:45 pm

    Just made it. It is so good, it did not have the chance to sit for an hour. All was eaten.
    My only change was that I used a can of chicken stock insted of the water.
    This is a new favorite.

  6. 6 Joanne July 7, 2010 at 3:43 pm

    Arabesque is one of my favorite cookbooks! I haven’t made this recipe yet but you can bet it’s on the list. Looks fantastic.


  1. 1 Make a Meal of It « Pauper's Pantry: Tips and tricks to eating well, healthfully, and within budget Trackback on July 12, 2010 at 10:37 am

Leave a Reply

