Quinoa with Broccoli Pesto

I think people who claim to hate vegetables just haven’t tried them in the right form. Show me someone who hates broccoli, and I can almost guarantee that this broccoli pesto will make them fall in love with it.

This is another amazing recipe from 101 Cookbooks, which I changed slightly because I didn’t want to drown my broccoli in heavy cream. I also cooked my quinoa in vegetable broth, because it’s just so much more flavorful than using water. I love this stuff!

Recipe:
(adapted from 101 Cookbooks)

1 cup quinoa
2 cups vegetable broth

5 cups raw broccoli, cut into small florets and stems

3 medium garlic cloves, chopped
1/2 cup sliced or slivered almonds, toasted
1/3 cup freshly grated Parmesan
2 big pinches salt
2 tablespoons fresh lemon juice
3 tbsp olive oil

Bring the broth to a boil, then stir in the quinoa and turn the heat to low. Simmer for 10-15 minutes, or until the quinoa has absorbed all the liquid. Fluff with a fork and let cool.

While the quinoa is cooking, steam the broccoli until tender. Transfer half the steamed broccoli to a food processor with the garlic, almonds, cheese, salt, lemon juice, and olive oil. Pulse a few times, until nearly smooth (but a little texture keeps it interesting). Taste and adjust seasonings.

To serve, toss the pesto with the quinoa, then top with remaining steamed broccoli.

11 Responses to “Quinoa with Broccoli Pesto”


  1. 1 Mo June 22, 2010 at 5:05 pm

    I love trying new types of pesto! And I adore steamed broccoli… and quinoa… I’m definitely going to try this out sometime. 🙂

  2. 2 Chikarakobu June 22, 2010 at 10:41 pm

    I love broccoli so this is perfect! I’ve got to try this out!

  3. 3 Dawn Hutchins June 24, 2010 at 12:33 pm

    Simple and delicious. Very nice!

  4. 4 Erin June 29, 2010 at 12:46 pm

    I made this a few months ago, and LOVED it! I actually made it twice within a few weeks, because the second time I decided it was worthy enough to be served at my sister’s bridal shower I was hosting. So good!

  5. 5 Sara Angel August 2, 2010 at 11:29 am

    Just tried this one out. You can check it out here: http://bit.ly/9ikJoT
    Thanks!

  6. 6 Karen May 25, 2011 at 6:38 am

    Is there a reason there’s no basil? I can’t imagine pesto without basil.

    Thanks!

  7. 8 Melissa September 20, 2011 at 10:55 am

    Just made this and love this recipe! It’ll definitely become part of the rotation! thanks!


  1. 1 switching gears « my sweetest day Trackback on August 2, 2010 at 11:17 am
  2. 2 Broccoli Pesto Bruschetta | Cate's World Kitchen Trackback on November 13, 2010 at 9:50 pm
  3. 3 It’s In Season: 20 Broccoli Recipes | Pepper Scraps Trackback on April 17, 2012 at 11:12 am

Leave a Reply

Twitter

  • Lovett or Leave It: my new favorite podcast. Waiting til the weekend is even harder now 6 days ago
  • I've apparently become a person who spends her weekend doing yard work 😬 1 week ago
  • Apparently when you buy a house your parents decide it's finally time to give you all your papers from high school 1 week ago

Don’t miss a post!

Contact me!

I love getting email: catesworldkitchen at gmail.com
Super Natural Recipe Search
wordpress visitor counter

