Pinto and Red Lentil Loaf

It’s been over 6 months since I stopped eating meat and I can pretty much say I haven’t had a single craving for anything meaty except meat loaf. (It helps that Trader Joe’s Soy Chorizo is amazing, I kind of got over bacon, and I’ve always liked veggie burgers and soy dogs more than the real thing.)

I was perusing tastespotting looking for something to do with the mammoth quantity of pinto beans we still have (I swear they’re multiplying), when I found this recipe for not-meat loaf. It looked good, but I changed some things up a bit, namely replacing the bread crumbs with oat bran and wheat germ because I had them on hand and they’re a little healthier, and skipping the TVP. I loved all the vegetables, and the cheddar cheese added richness (even if it’s not totally healthy).

It doesn’t have a completely firm texture…the inside was a little soft and reminiscent of refried beans, but it didn’t bother me because I could still slice it, and the flavor was amazing (especially with ketchup on top). If you want your loaf to be firm, you might try doubling the oat bran and wheat germ, or try using 1 cup of bread crumbs.

Recipe:
(adapted from Chef In You)

3/4 cup red lentils
2 cups water
1 tbsp olive oil
1 stalk celery, chopped (including the greens)
1 carrot, chopped
1 onion, chopped
1 red bell pepper, chopped
2 tbsp ketchup
1 15-oz can pinto beans (or 1 1/2 cups cooked, rinsed and drained pinto beans)
1 egg
2 tbsp oat bran
2 tbsp wheat germ
1 cup grated cheddar cheese
salt to taste

Preheat the oven to 375 F, and grease a loaf pan.
Combine the lentils and water in a medium saucepan and boil (skimming off the foam) until they have completely disintegrated and the mixture is thick and creamy (about 30 minutes).
Heat the olive oil in a large skillet over medium and add the chopped vegetables. Cook, stirring, until tender, about 6 minutes. Add about 1/2 tsp salt, then stir in the ketchup.
Put the vegetable mixture, pinto beans, and lentils in a food processor and process until smooth. Transfer to a bowl, and mix in the egg, followed by the oat bran, wheat germ, and cheese.
Smooth this into the greased loaf pan, then bake for about an hour, or until firm. Remove from the oven, let stand for about 10 minutes, then slice to serve.

10 Responses to “Pinto and Red Lentil Loaf”


  1. 1 Carrie (Love Healthy Living) May 20, 2010 at 1:09 pm

    That looks great. I’m not vegetarian (yet) but meatloaf would definitely be on my missed foods list with meat. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

  2. 2 Julie May 20, 2010 at 2:22 pm

    Oh my word, that does looks delicious! I love the mix of legumes, whole grains, and vegetables. Everything I look for in a recipe to try. šŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing!

  3. 3 Lori May 21, 2010 at 5:13 am

    I am convinced that tastespotting is more of a time sucker for me than all social media sites put together. I could browse for hours! This looks delicious! I’ve been looking for something for my lentils. I was getting bored with old recipes and then this one comes along!

  4. 4 Erin May 31, 2010 at 7:03 pm

    Cate, this looks like a great alternative to meatloaf! You should also check out the Quinoa loaf recipe on the Whole Foods website. I made it a while back, and it was amazing! Just never quite got around to blogging it. Also, I totally agree on how awesome soyrizo is šŸ™‚

  5. 5 JamieG May 7, 2012 at 5:01 pm

    I make this all the time, thank you! I have this in the oven right now– and forgot the step to cook the vegetables first! I hope it’s still delicious. Have you ever done that?

  6. 7 Katrina September 9, 2012 at 2:21 pm

    Can this be refrigerated or frozen afterwards to keep for a few days?


  1. 1 Fab Frugal Food » Meatless Monday: A Meatless Loaf Even June Cleaver Would Envy (Secret Ingredient: A-1 sauce!) Trackback on July 22, 2010 at 12:46 pm
  2. 2 Vegetarian Bean Recipes for Meat-Free Main Courses - : Trackback on January 25, 2012 at 5:44 am

Leave a Reply

Twitter

  • Lovett or Leave It: my new favorite podcast. Waiting til the weekend is even harder now 6 days ago
  • I've apparently become a person who spends her weekend doing yard work šŸ˜¬ 1 week ago
  • Apparently when you buy a house your parents decide it's finally time to give you all your papers from high school 1 week ago

Don’t miss a post!

Contact me!

I love getting email: catesworldkitchen at gmail.com
Super Natural Recipe Search
wordpress visitor counter

