Fennel and Orange Salad



I guess it’s technically a winter vegetable, but fennel just screams spring to me: the fresh crunch, pretty green fronds, and the licorice flavor that reminds me of hoarding black jelly beans on Easter when I was little. I couldn’t understand why I was the only person that liked them!

Mike was a little dubious about this salad. He’s not as crazy about black licorice as I am, but he loved this. The lemon, red onion, and orange cover up most of the fennel flavor, so you get just a hint of licorice, but it’s balanced nicely with the citrus. After the soft roasted vegetables we ate all winter, it’s great to have such a crisp and crunchy vegetable. I think it’s best after sitting in the fridge for about 20 minutes, so all the flavors can combine and mellow.

Recipe:

makes 3 small servings

1 medium fennel bulb , thinly sliced (slice the celery-looking stalks too)
1 medium navel orange, cut into sections
1/4 cup thinly sliced red onion
3 tbsp freshly squeezed orange juice
1 tbsp olive oil
1 tbsp lemon juice
3 tbsp chopped walnuts

Toss the fennel, oranges, and red onion in a medium bowl. Sprinkle with a pinch or two of salt and pepper.

Whisk together the orange juice, olive oil, and lemon juice. Pour over the fennel mixture and toss well.

Chill for about 20 minutes, covered, then sprinkle with walnuts to serve.

3 Responses to “Fennel and Orange Salad”


  1. 1 roxan April 27, 2010 at 9:12 am

    Mmm, this looks so crisp and refreshing! I’d love to have some for lunch today.

  2. 2 Cara April 28, 2010 at 6:07 am

    I recently discovered that I love fennel too! Especially in salads like this, I love the crunch and vibrant flavor. It reminds me of spring somehow too. The funny thing is, I do not – and have NEVER – liked licorice of any kind.


  1. 1 perfect pairing: notes of orange | Vegan Hostess Trackback on March 13, 2012 at 4:19 am

Leave a Reply

