Amazing Sweet Potato Fries

I wouldn’t put amazing in the title for nothing.

Well, maybe I would, but right now I promise I’m not exaggerating. These have completely changed everything I ever though oven-baked fries could be. They’re awesome on their own, and even better with ketchup. The nut butters don’t overpower the flavor of the sweet potatoes at all.

Angela made hers with parsnips, but when I got to the store and sweet potatoes cost less than half as much as parsnips, my mind was pretty much made for me. Plus I love sweet potatoes in all forms, so it worked out pretty well. I divided mine among two baking sheets just so they weren’t crowded and had ample air space for crisping up. The texture isn’t exactly like deep fried fries, but they’re pretty divine in their own way.

Recipe:
(adapted from Oh She Glows)

2 medium sweet potatoes, cut into fry-shaped strips
1 tbsp almond butter
2 tbsp chunky peanut butter
1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1/2 tsp kosher salt

Preheat oven to 375 F and line 2 baking sheets with Silpats or parchment.

Put the sweet potato strips in a large bowl and toss with the oil, salt, and nut butters until evenly coated (It’s a little messy, but works best with your hands).

Spread the fries evenly on both baking sheets (make sure they’re not touching), and bake for about 45 minutes or until tender.

Serve with ketchup.

18 Responses to “Amazing Sweet Potato Fries”


  1. 1 HoneyB April 26, 2010 at 5:18 pm

    I really love the concept of the almond and peanut butter on these fries! I will definitely have to try this out!

  2. 2 themilkmanswife April 26, 2010 at 6:46 pm

    Oh, these look so delicious! I would have never thought a combo of nut butters would pair so well with sweet potato fries, but I’m convinced. Thanks for sharing!

  3. 3 Tasha April 26, 2010 at 6:46 pm

    Sweet potatoes are delicious how ever you make them- especially fries- and I love peanut & almond butters so I can’t wait to try this. It sounds awesome!

  4. 4 Tracey April 26, 2010 at 7:10 pm

    Sweet potato fries are SO good!! Interesting combination of flavors here – as soon as I get my hands on some almond butter I’m going to try them!

  5. 5 roxan April 26, 2010 at 8:07 pm

    I love sweet potato fries! I never thought about putting nut butters on them, I’ll have to try that, thank you!

  6. 6 tigerfish April 26, 2010 at 11:31 pm

    I like those fries…really.

  7. 7 Jen April 27, 2010 at 9:05 am

    These look great. I’m adding them to my to-make list.

  8. 8 stephchows April 27, 2010 at 1:02 pm

    ooo these sound fantastic!!

  9. 9 Melanie April 27, 2010 at 1:21 pm

    These sweet potatoes sound delish. I will try them any day.

  10. 10 Moodles April 27, 2010 at 1:25 pm

    In New Zealand, they call sweet potatoes Kumara. I’ve eaten a fair number of kumara chips, with sour cream and sweet chili sauce–these look far healthier.

  11. 11 Maria April 28, 2010 at 10:30 am

    I am obsessed with sweet potatoes! Love them!

  12. 12 SweetOnVeg April 28, 2010 at 5:25 pm

    Yummmm! Oh, how I adore sweet potatoes. This is an excellent idea to coat the fries in nut butter!!

  13. 13 Azusa May 1, 2010 at 10:02 pm

    I was just beginning to get tired of sweet potatoes, but not anymore. This was amazing! I didn’t have almond butter, so I used all peanut butter and it turned out fantastic. This was sweet, salty, creamy, crispy, and chewy—making them really satisfying and addictive. Thanks for posting the recipe!

  14. 14 Kris | iheartwellness.com May 4, 2010 at 6:02 pm

    Great looking sweet potatoes!! I make mine sometimes with pecan meal as the “crust” and bake them! So tasty with nuts!

    XXOO

  15. 15 chanel11 October 16, 2010 at 2:00 am

    OMG these were awesome! I used only Almond Brazil & Cashewnut butter and added an extra teaspoon salt and they were delicious!


  1. 1 Camping Campgrounds | 4-day Camping Menu Plan Trackback on May 17, 2010 at 3:26 am
  2. 2 chocolate chia pudding, and a surprising success « penny pinchin' kitchen Trackback on June 8, 2011 at 11:31 am
  3. 3 Thursday latelies: Count Chocula | simplystylishmom Trackback on October 13, 2011 at 4:09 am

Leave a Reply

Twitter

Don’t miss a post!

Contact me!

I love getting email: catesworldkitchen at gmail.com
Super Natural Recipe Search
wordpress visitor counter

