Strawberry Bread

The Thursday night Farmer’s Market in our town is kind of a scene. It’s always packed with people, barbecue carts, a bounce house, puppet shows and live music, various political and religious booths, and of course, plent of farmers selling fabulous produce. It can be overwhelming and I usually don’t feel like dealing with the crowds (or the cold!) But Saturday mornings, most of the same farmers go to a shopping center parking lot, and that market is just focused on the food. I love it.

I picked up tons of great stuff this weekend, including the first fresh California strawberries I’ve had in a very long time. I knew Mike and I could devour all three baskets with no problem, but I couldn’t get the idea of strawberry bread out of my mind, so I decided to do some experimenting.

I used white whole wheat flour because it’s the best thing on earth, and a cup and a half of diced fresh strawberries. I wish I could say I waited for it to cool so I could cut perfect slices, but obviously that didn’t happen. I have a feeling I’ll be baking dozens of loaves of this over the next few months. With local strawberries so plentiful, who needs banana bread?

Recipe:
2 eggs
1/4 cup plain yogurt
1/4 cup vegetable oil
2 tsp pure vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups white whole wheat flour
2/3 cup sugar
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1 1/2 cups fresh diced strawberries

Preheat the oven to 350 F and grease an 8 x 4″ loaf pan.

Whisk together the flour, sugar, baking soda, salt and baking powder in a large bowl.

In a separate bowl, beat the eggs until the evenly yellow (but not frothy). Stir in the yogurt, oil, and vanilla and stir until evenly mixed. Pour into the dry ingredients and mix until there are no longer traces of flour. Gently fold in the strawberries, then pour into the prepared pan.

Bake for about 40 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.

Cool in the pan for 10 minutes, then run a sharp knife around the bread and turn out onto a wire rack to cool completely before slicing.

14 Responses to “Strawberry Bread”


  1. 1 Cara March 30, 2010 at 6:51 am

    What a beautiful color that bread has! And I am so jealous right now of everyone who lives somewhere with wonderful farmers’ markets year round.

  2. 2 julo March 30, 2010 at 11:11 am

    Oh yum! You know, I’ve never thought of making strawberry bread, but this just reminded me of these strawberry muffins they have once a year at Souplantation that I absolutely love. Actually, they’re just about the only thing there that I find better than just ok. Hehe. I will definitely have to try this.

  3. 3 Cherine March 30, 2010 at 11:54 pm

    This strawberry bread looks so appetizing!

  4. 4 kathy April 2, 2010 at 9:39 am

    It looks berry strawberry. My daughter will like this. Thanks for the recipe. 🙂

  5. 5 Avrienne April 4, 2010 at 8:13 am

    I’m having this for breakfast, right now, spread with a little plain cream cheese….heavenly!

  6. 6 Colleen April 11, 2010 at 4:21 pm

    This looks sooo good! Nice and summery!

  7. 7 Yudith April 11, 2010 at 4:52 pm

    I am bookmarking this–it looks fantastic!

  8. 8 Kristin V May 11, 2011 at 9:05 pm

    I made this tonight and it was delicious! I can not wait to have more for breakfast. Thanks for posting this in the strawberry WC post.

  9. 9 bbjg September 7, 2013 at 9:04 am

    Cate, can you please tell me which method do you use for measuring flour? Do you spoon the flour into the cup, or do you dip the cup into the flour? I used the dipping method when baking this strawberry bread and it took forever to bake (though it tasted really good when it was finally done). So I wonder if I should have spooned the flour instead. I’d appreciate if you could let me know. Thank you.


  1. 1 Strawberry Bread « Blissfully Delicious Trackback on August 16, 2010 at 10:31 pm
  2. 2 Strawberry Breads Forever « confettieffectbaking Trackback on May 13, 2011 at 9:01 am
  3. 3 Strawberry Banana Breakfast Bread |          Trackback on March 12, 2012 at 7:32 pm
  4. 4 Strawberry Bread | Trackback on April 14, 2012 at 12:53 pm
  5. 5 Strawberry Yogurt Muffins Trackback on July 23, 2013 at 8:00 pm

Leave a Reply

