Tomato Soup

As a kid tomato soup meant two things: Campbell’s and cheese nibblets. I don’t know how many cans of Campbell’s soup I ate growing up, but I’m guessing it’s in the thousands. Tomato was my favorite, followed closely by cream of asparagus and cream of celery. Cheese nibblets are really just little cubes of cheddar cheese (always Tillamook) that were an absolute necessity. I don’t know why we called them nibblets, but I still won’t eat tomato soup without them.

I recently decided that since I’m such a strong advocate of making things from scratch, it was time for me to make my own tomato soup instead of opening a can of Campbell’s. This is a quick, easy tomato soup with a little hint of creaminess. After a long cold run last weekend, it was absolutely perfect.

Recipe:
2 tsp olive oil
1/2 yellow onion, diced
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 tsp dried oregano
14 oz can diced tomatoes
1/2 cup veg broth
1/4 cup whole milk
salt and pepper
1-2 ounces cheddar cheese, cut in small dice

Heat the oil in a medium sauce pan. Add the onion and garlic and cook, stirring, until the onion is soft (about 5 minutes. Add the oregano, tomatoes, and vegetable broth and cook for another 5 minutes. Add the milk and season to taste with salt and pepper, then puree with an immersion blender. If the soup is too thick, add a little more vegetable broth. Sprinkle with diced cheese to serve.

8 Responses to “Tomato Soup”


  1. 1 Kate February 11, 2010 at 9:23 am

    I’ve never done the niblet thing, but it makes sense – for me, tomato soup always meant Campbells and grilled cheese – same flavor combo, but with extra starch!

  2. 2 Michelle February 11, 2010 at 12:42 pm

    I really enjoy your blog and I’ve passed a blog award onto you. You can find out about it in my post:
    http://oneordinaryday.wordpress.com/2010/02/10/valentine-lollipops-and-an-award/

  3. 3 Nicole, RD February 11, 2010 at 12:55 pm

    Simple and delicious! Thanks for the recipe!

  4. 4 tia February 11, 2010 at 10:21 pm

    yum yum!
    and so simple too!

  5. 5 Carrie February 12, 2010 at 6:01 am

    This looks really great. I love the cheese cubes on top!

  6. 6 Michelle Porter July 21, 2011 at 10:57 am

    How could you make this with fresh tomatoes?

    • 7 Cate July 21, 2011 at 11:16 am

      Michelle – I would probably just submerge them in boiling water for a few seconds so they’re easy to peel, then chop them up and continue with the recipe (maybe discarding the seeds as well…)

  7. 8 carrie February 13, 2013 at 3:49 pm

    this is great cate ur awsome.


Leave a Reply

