Lemon Meringue Cupcakes

When I found out my former roommate and sorority grand-big-sis was engaged, I was obviously really excited for her. When she asked me to make the cupcakes for her wedding, I got even more excited. This weekend she and her fiance came to my town to do some wedding planning (because they’re getting married at a winery nearby) and wanted to do a cupcake tasting. Since I NEVER turn down the opportunity to bake, I was stoked that she wanted to try strawberry and lemon, two kinds of cupcakes I’d never made before.

These cupcakes are a little unusual because they have oil instead of butter, and a light meringue icing instead of buttercream. They were instantly a hit with the groom-to-be, who loves lemon meringue pie. If you like fluffy meringue, you’ll love these, but you could always do lemon buttercream if that’s more your style.

Recipe:

Posted on coconut & lime

The only change I made to the original recipe was to omit the lemon zest from the frosting.

8 Responses to “Lemon Meringue Cupcakes”


  1. 1 A Bowl Of Mush February 4, 2010 at 7:04 am

    These look absolutely gorgeous!

  2. 2 Michelle February 4, 2010 at 9:10 am

    I’m a sucker for meringue peaks. These look lovely!

  3. 3 Nicole, RD February 4, 2010 at 11:10 am

    I’m a lover of all things lemon….yum!

  4. 5 Kristen at Le Petit Pierogi February 5, 2010 at 9:55 am

    These are SO pretty and I bet they taste delicious!

  5. 6 amy February 6, 2010 at 8:14 am

    your lemon meringue cupcakes looks almost too perfect:)

  6. 7 Erin Cottrell February 6, 2010 at 11:29 am

    Deliciously adorable! And that’s quite an undertaking, baking cupcakes for a wedding!

  7. 8 Lori February 6, 2010 at 4:10 pm

    I love the peaks on the cupcakes, so pretty. I just found your blog when I was searching for recipes to make my own cupcakes. I’ll be back for sure. My husband and I are former expats as well, Brazil for 2 yrs. We just traveled around SE Asia a bit last Oct and loved Thailand. I can see why you stayed for a while. 🙂


Leave a Reply

