Ricotta Stuffed Tomatoes

stuffedtomatoes5

As tempted as I was to eat all my homemade ricotta by the spoonful, I wanted to figure out a recipe that would really let it shine. I’ve made ricotta-stuffed tomatoes before, but this time I decided to make them a little heartier by mixing cooked millet and ricotta in a one to one ratio, with some garlic and basil for flavor.

If you’re trying to eat more whole grains but can’t stomach a big plate of them, this is a great way to sneak them in. Millet is really easy to cook (just boil 2.5 cups of water with a pinch of salt, stir in 1 cup of rinsed millet, and simmer for about 25 minutes with the lid on, then fluff with a fork), and is a good source of some key nutrients, including magnesium.

I used dried herbs because I can’t find fresh, but I think the flavor would be a lot brighter using fresh basil and oregano. This is a great place to use sub-par tomatoes, because the time in the oven helps concentrate their flavor, so even if they’re slightly under-ripe (like most tomatoes I find in Korea are), they’ll taste pretty good!
stuffedtomatoes

Recipe:
9 medium tomatoes
1 cup ricotta
1 cup cooked millet
3 garlic cloves, finely chopped
1 egg
1 tbsp dried basil
1 tsp dried oregano
1/2 tsp salt
black pepper

Preheat the oven to 375 F.
Using a small, sharp knife, cut the top off each tomato. Carefully scrape out the flesh and seeds, so you’re left with a hollow cup.

In a medium bowl, mix together the remaining ingredients. Scoop a some of the filling into each tomato so it is full but not over-flowing.

Bake for about 25-30 minutes, or until the tops are golden.

6 Responses to “Ricotta Stuffed Tomatoes”


  1. 1 Molly Jean September 4, 2009 at 6:49 am

    Oooh these look great. I love stuffed tomatoes. Now if I could just work up the courage to make your homemade ricotta I would be all set!

  2. 2 Melissa September 4, 2009 at 5:17 pm

    I love fresh ricotta! This looks like a light, but still substantial recipe. Not to mention delicious!

  3. 3 Eralda September 4, 2009 at 7:08 pm

    Those tomatoes look delicious and I especially love the addition of millet! What a great idea to sneak in whole grains…and cheese makes everything better. Yum!

  4. 4 Ellie September 5, 2009 at 2:38 am

    I have never tried millet. This is a very interesting recipe. Thanks for sharing.

  5. 5 Colleen September 6, 2009 at 1:03 pm

    Love any and all kinds of stuffed tomatoes – these look particularly delicious!

  6. 6 Kerstin September 7, 2009 at 6:12 pm

    These look great! I’m impressed you made your own ricotta! And I love that you snuck some millet in them.


Leave a Reply

