Rice-stuffed Bell Peppers

stuffed pepper 3

Some vegetables are just crying out to be stuffed. That little groove in celery was clearly designed by some higher power with peanut butter in mind. I can’t look at mushrooms without thinking how much better they would be flipped upside down, stems removed, and filled with a rich savory mixture that preferably includes bacon. I don’t mind eating raw bell peppers, but I like them so much more when they’re filled and baked.

The other day I was remembering the red bell peppers stuffed with quinoa that I made a few months ago, and I realized something was missing from my life. Stuffed peppers. I haven’t found quinoa here yet, but I do have plenty of brown rice and tofu, and I knew that together they could make a few green bell peppers into a satisfying meal.

IMG_0233

Recipe
4 small green bell peppers
4 cloves garlic, finely chopped
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 yellow onion, diced
8 ounces firm tofu, drained of excess water
1 1/2 cups cooked rice (I used a mixture of brown and white)
1 cup roughly chopped fresh spinach
1 hot red pepper (or jalapeno), chopped
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 cup thinly sliced green onion (green parts only)

Preheat the oven to 375 F.
Cut the peppers in half lengthwise, leaving the stems intact. Discard the seeds and membranes.
Heat the oil in a large frying pan and add the garlic and onion.
Cook until onion is translucent and soft, then add the rice, spinach, hot pepper, and salt.
Cook, stirring, for about 3 minutes, then remove from heat.
In a medium bowl, smash the tofu with your hands until it is a smooth puree. Stir in the rice mixture and green onions and allow to cool slightly. Taste and add more salt if necessary.
Place the bell pepper halves in a baking pan and fill each with a few spoonfuls of filling.
Bake for 30-40 minutes, or until the filling is golden brown and the peppers are soft.

IMG_0248

8 Responses to “Rice-stuffed Bell Peppers”


  1. 1 Molly Jean July 19, 2009 at 8:20 pm

    Those look absolutely delicious. Do you think a sub of chicken (shredded or cubed) for tofu would modify things too much?

  2. 2 John July 19, 2009 at 11:52 pm

    Wow, looks amazng! There would be a lot more vegetarians out there if you were doing the cooking!

  3. 3 Rebel July 20, 2009 at 4:10 am

    I can never think of anything more insightful to say than “YUM” when I read your blog! I can’t wait until I have a kitchen again so I can try some of these out.

  4. 4 Ellie July 20, 2009 at 8:29 am

    These look gorgeous. I’m drooling over here!!!

  5. 5 Colleen July 21, 2009 at 9:43 am

    These look very tasty – and pretty too!

  6. 6 ashley July 21, 2009 at 8:52 pm

    what a wonderful flavor combo! i love the use of tofu! i want to try these! i don’t know if hubby will eat them but I certainly will! they look fab!

  7. 7 EAT! August 2, 2009 at 9:55 am

    I love the idea of stuffing peppers with a rice mixture. They look like a fantastic summertime entree.

  8. 8 velva August 3, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    Stuffing large and small peppers with rice, vegetables, ground beef, seasonings with and a good cheese sprinkled on top qnd bake 30-45 minutes! Are very tasty! Thanks for sharing this idea with us! This recipe is on my list to make


Leave a Reply

