Ginger Pork Cabbage Wraps

Cabbage-wraps-3-500x375

My husband came home from the store the other day with the largest head of cabbage I think I’ve ever seen. It’s pumpkin shaped, and barely fits into the produce drawer in the refrigerator. Cabbage is one of his favorite vegetables, so this was a big score for him… but for me, well, there are many vegetables I’d rather eat.

Still, I like to be accommodating, so I’ve been trying to dream up new applications for cabbage in the kitchen. You can only have so much cabbage stir fry or coleslaw (and this is coming from the girl with an incredibly high tolerance for repetition), so I knew I needed to branch out if we were ever going to get through the abundant quantity currently occupying the bulk of the refrigerator.

I would like to take a moment to convey my new-found affection for ground pork. It’s readily available here, and much cheaper than ground beef, so I’ve been using it much more often than I ever did at home (when I think I only ever used it in pot stickers). It just begs to be mixed up with great Asian flavors like sesame oil, soy sauce, and green onions, and I’m perfectly willing to oblige. I realize it’s not the healthiest meat out there, but I tend to use it sparingly, so I’m confident my arteries are not completely clogged yet.

So, anyway, about all that cabbage. I had seen some appetizing recipes for lettuce wraps floating around, and thought ‘why not make cabbage wraps instead?’ So I did. With pork and rice, so you can almost count these as a complete meal!

Recipe:
3/4 pound lean ground pork
1 tbsp chopped fresh ginger
3 tbsp chopped green onions
2 tbsp soy sauce
1 tbsp sesame oil
1/2 cup cooked rice
soft outer leaves from one head of cabbage

Combine the pork, ginger, green onions, soy sauce, and sesame oil and mix well.
Cook in a large nonstick frying pan until the pork is thoroughly cooked, then add the rice and stir.
Cut the cabbage leaves into 3″ triangles (or just tear into pieces that are about 3″ on each side).
Spoon about a tablespoon of filling onto a piece of cabbage, fold it up, and eat!

10 Responses to “Ginger Pork Cabbage Wraps”


  1. 1 Laura July 16, 2009 at 6:10 am

    What a fun twist on a plain old lettuce wrap. These look delicious!

    PS – If you’ve got some cabbage left over, I’ve got an awesome recipe for egg rolls on my blog. And, cabbage is the main ingredient!

  2. 2 Rebel July 16, 2009 at 7:49 am

    OMG – yum!!!! I used to make this recipe for basically ginger pork & rice meatballs, but I think it could easily go into a cabbage leaf & be much neater – I’ll need to make a mental note!

  3. 3 Kerstin July 16, 2009 at 7:51 pm

    This looks like a great yummy quick recipe for a busy weeknight! There’s ground pork at our local meat market, but I’ve never bought any – that will have to change!

  4. 4 BluePencil July 17, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    Can hardly wait to try these, being a big cabbage and pork fan myself.

  5. 5 Eralda July 17, 2009 at 7:39 pm

    Oooohhh, that’s SUCH a great idea to use the cabbage leaves as wraps. I love it! And I also love ground pork. A little goes a long way. sounds like a beautiful, quick, and light summery lunch/dinner. Yummy!

  6. 6 Maryanna July 19, 2009 at 1:12 pm

    I’ve had lettuce wraps, but not cabbage wraps. I bet I would love this!

  7. 7 Karine July 19, 2009 at 2:24 pm

    You seem to have made a great recipe with the cabbage! I love ginger and pork together… it is just ssssooo delicious!

  8. 8 Miss High Heels July 20, 2009 at 1:56 am

    Cabbage has never looked so tasty!

  9. 9 veron July 20, 2009 at 6:45 pm

    Oh, wow cabbage wraps..and I love pork a lot so this is totally something I would try.

  10. 10 Rebecca/Woman with a Whisk July 21, 2009 at 1:00 pm

    Definitely flagging these to make. I never know what to do with the cabbage that comes in our CSA box, and this looks so good.


Leave a Reply

