Broccoli Cheddar Twice-Baked Potatoes

IMG_0339

Yesterday was a huge day for me: I purchased cheese for the first time in 6 months. The Costco (yes, there’s really Costco here!) we went to had a decent selection of cheese, but a lot of it was really expensive and only came in gargantuan packages. I would have loved to get some gorgonzola, but 2 pounds seemed like a little much.

So I sensibly opted for a large block of medium cheddar. I knew I could use it in all sorts of recipes and could easily snack on way too much of it (which I’ve already done). I’m definitely planning on making a nice big pot of my favorite Macaroni and Cheese, but first I decided to whip up some of these twice-baked potatoes.

I debated whether or not I should cook the broccoli before I used it in the filling, and I’m glad I didn’t. It softens just enough when it’s baked, and I think if I had cooked it first, it would have gotten too mushy. I might try doing it that way next time, though, just to compare.

Broccoli Cheese Potatoes

[amd-zlrecipe-recipe:4]

22 Responses to “Broccoli Cheddar Twice-Baked Potatoes”


  1. 2 bmk July 14, 2009 at 5:29 am

    These look delicious!

  2. 3 Jessica July 14, 2009 at 5:52 am

    6 months without cheese??? I could never do it 🙂

    These sounds great. I am going to try these this week!

  3. 4 Molly Jean July 14, 2009 at 6:53 am

    I’m on my own for dinner tonight and this might be the perfect thing to have!

  4. 5 nina July 15, 2009 at 4:12 am

    We are in the middle of winter so broccoli is in abundance. Thx for sharing this delicious recipe with me!!!

  5. 6 Maryanna July 15, 2009 at 5:59 am

    These look so good. I love twice baked potatoes.

  6. 7 Katie July 15, 2009 at 8:05 am

    Oh yum!! I LOVE brocolli cheese potatoes and these look fantastic!

  7. 8 Melissa July 15, 2009 at 10:23 am

    I don’t think I could go 6 days without cheese, forget 6 months! These look delicious!

  8. 9 Mrs. Mordecai July 15, 2009 at 10:53 am

    I’m bookmarking this one now! I know my husband will love them . . . oh yeah, and me too.

  9. 10 Michelle July 15, 2009 at 11:27 am

    Yum. I haven’t had a twice-baked potato in ages. They look great.

  10. 11 Karine July 15, 2009 at 6:25 pm

    This recipe looks to be a great way to enjoy potatoes!

  11. 12 Kerstin July 16, 2009 at 7:49 pm

    Love that last picture – they look great! My favorite stop at the mall food court was the baked potato place growing up, and I still love them!

  12. 13 Velva July 21, 2009 at 2:56 am

    This looks like a great idea to serve-up mid-week. Thanks for sharing.

  13. 14 GayLene March 2, 2010 at 10:30 pm

    My husband has been wanting a twice backed potato recipe for me to try and this looks so good that I’m willing to try a twice baked potato again, since the first try years ago was a disaster.

  14. 15 Camm Johnson May 3, 2011 at 10:49 am

    this is amazing great job!

  15. 16 liz June 20, 2011 at 6:13 pm

    i made a vegan version of these with daiya pepperjack “cheese” and soy milk.. worked really well actually. even with fake cheese they were still delicious.

  16. 17 Teresa March 27, 2013 at 8:23 pm

    I made this to go with a another Pinterest pin for steak with bell peppers. We grilled the potatoes and I used the 1st harvest of broccoli from my 2013 spring garden. I didn’t have any milk so I used a bit more butter and it came out just fine. I will make these again and am sending this recipe to my daughter as well because she loves broccoli! Thanks!


  1. 1 Weekend Foodie Links : Blisstree - Family, Health, Home and Lifestyles Trackback on July 18, 2009 at 5:18 pm
  2. 2 My Attempt to Expand My Cooking Knowledge « Found Love. Now What? Trackback on September 18, 2011 at 1:10 pm
  3. 3 The Great Cooking Update: Part One « Found Love. Now What? Trackback on September 25, 2011 at 9:53 pm
  4. 4 Broccoli Cheddar Twice Baked Potatoes, made with Greek Yogurt | Kelly's Healthy Kitchen Trackback on November 14, 2012 at 6:29 pm
  5. 5 {Menu Monday} Have you heard of Bountiful Baskets? | Crayon Marks and Tiger Stripes Trackback on April 8, 2013 at 9:08 am

Leave a Reply

