Better than sliced bread

What could be better than sliced bread? FRIED bread. I know it sounds gross, but since I started seeing locals dipping fried breadsticks into their steaming bowls of bun or pho, I wanted to try it for myself.

img_6316

Look at those beauties. They are basically like unsweetened doughnuts, which might sound like an unlikely candidate for dipping in soup, but when they get soaked with broth they are SO good!

img_6330

5 Responses to “Better than sliced bread”


  1. 1 Liz March 24, 2009 at 1:32 am

    Wow that looks amazing! I wish pho restaurants here offered those 🙂

  2. 2 cathy March 24, 2009 at 3:06 am

    mmmm. I love eating those with congee!

  3. 3 Steph March 24, 2009 at 3:32 am

    have you tried the sweet version? It’s really good..I think it’s better!

  4. 4 Jillian March 24, 2009 at 2:56 pm

    Looks good to me! 🙂

  5. 5 Colleen March 24, 2009 at 5:32 pm

    Mmm fried anything is delicious – and looks even better dipped in soup!


Leave a Reply

