Recipe Exchange: Curried Egg Salad

Egg salad was not my favorite food for quite a long time.  I just didn’t see anything really appealing about it.  Then I tried a curried egg salad recipe from 101cookbooks.com.  I decided egg salad was okay in my book, after all.

When this recipe exchange came around (with the theme of “Keepin’ It Real” – quick and easy recipes), I was SO EXCITED to find this recipe in my inbox.  It was delicious – I loved the inclusion of green onions, and it was a perfect lunch smeared on some naan.  The only thing I changed was using nonfat plain yogurt in place of mayo, because it lightens it up a lot, but if you like mayo, definitely use it!
Curried Egg Salad
12 hardboiled eggs, peeled and coarsely chopped
3/4 cup mayo
1/4 cup chopped scallions
1 1/2 tsp curry powder
salt and pepper to taste

1) In medium bowl combine eggs, mayonnaise, scallions and curry powder.
2) Season with salt and pepper.

7 Responses to “Recipe Exchange: Curried Egg Salad”


  1. 1 KMAYS September 13, 2008 at 8:07 pm

    What a great egg salad recipe! Thanks for the yogurt tip. I was just thinking about how I would make myself some egg salad, but it can get so fattening.

  2. 2 Steph September 13, 2008 at 10:13 pm

    I love egg salad! Next time I’ll give your version a try. I’ve never been a fan of curry, but after seeing your egg salad, I’m tempted to give it a try again.

  3. 3 emdot September 13, 2008 at 11:44 pm

    I’m am going to make this! You heard it here first. 🙂 Thanks for the inspiration, Cate. 😉

  4. 4 Maria September 15, 2008 at 3:00 am

    I usually don’t like egg salad either but maybe this one will change my mind.

  5. 5 salad shooter September 15, 2008 at 2:16 pm

    what i love the most about egg salad is that it’s just so easy. thanks for the great recipe.

  6. 6 Vera September 16, 2008 at 8:02 pm

    Cate, your salad made me hungry 🙂 It looks tasty!

  7. 7 Michael Beyer September 6, 2010 at 10:47 am

    I love egg salad too. Here is my favorite Danish egg salad which contains sweet pickles and dill: http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/09/05/danish-egg-salad/


Leave a Reply

