Chocolate Chip Cookies

This was the first cookie recipe I ever memorized, and I have made hundreds of batches of these.  They are everything I love about cookies…crisp on the outside, chewy on the inside, and full of chocolate.  I have made variations using oatmeal or nuts or adding some cocoa powder and white chocolate chips, but I like them best just the way they are, hot from the oven.

The recipe came from a cookbook put together by our neighbor’s real estate office over a decade ago.   

7 ounces butter butter (I always use salted), softened (1 and 3/4 sticks)
2/3 cup brown sugar (I use whatever I have on hand, either dark or light, or a mixture)
1/2 cup white sugar
1 egg
2 tsp pure vanilla extract
2 cups unbleached all purpose flour
1/2 tsp salt
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 12 oz bag semisweet chocolate chips
Preheat oven to 350
Cream the butter and add sugar, beating until well-mixed.  Add the egg and vanilla, and mix for about 30 seconds.  
In a separate bowl, stir together the flour, salt, and baking soda with a fork.  Add to the butter mixture and stir gently until flour just disappears.  Add chocolate chips and stir until evenly distributed.
Drop by rounded tablespoonfuls onto parchment or Silpat-lined cookie sheets and bake 8-10 minutes, until just beginning to brown on the edges.
3 Responses to “Chocolate Chip Cookies”


  1. 1 Anonymous June 18, 2008 at 4:25 am

    These sound like awesome cookies. I have a daughter that used to make cookies that sound just like these and highly addictive.

  2. 2 Liz October 15, 2009 at 5:13 pm

    Hey cate, is it possible this is incorrect? I made them last night but they did not turn out right.

  3. 3 Cate October 17, 2009 at 7:08 pm

    Liz – I’ll try and figure out why they didn’t work out for you. It might take me awhile, since I’m in Cambodia right now but I’m sorry they didn’t work!


Leave a Reply

